27
Nov
09

Your Favourite Game of 2009

A sensible man would have learned by now not to attempt any community engagement features until he had an active community to engage. I am not a sensible man.

December is creeping up on us meaning that blogs up and down the Internet will soon be publishing their end of year lists and retrospectives. Essentially its a lazy method of re-hashing old posts in an attempt to drum up new content and extra page hits. I fully support it.

I’ve not quite decided the scope of this blog’s 2009 round-up but, as with everything, I imagine it will largely depend on how much time I can be bothered to put into it.

In the meantime, partly because I’m genuinely interested and partly to remind me what games actually came out this year, I ask you this question:

What was your favourite game of 2009?

I'm not expecting anyone to pick Stalin vs. Martians

Comments, ho!

8 Responses to “Your Favourite Game of 2009”


  1. 1 Adam
    27/11/2009 at 20:42

    quite a few good ones to choose from but il go with dwad space

    • 2 octaeder
      27/11/2009 at 21:04

      You can’t have Dwad Space – it was 2008!

      Also you need a Gravatar pic, that one’s terrible!

  2. 3 Adam
    27/11/2009 at 21:02

    please have the good grace to ignore my last comment as after some research which in all fairness should have been done before i commented i realised dead space was realeased in 2008. therefore without further a do my favourite game of 2009 is Batman: Arkham Asylum.

  3. 4 Izzi
    28/11/2009 at 21:26

    i didnt play many games so i feel like whatever i put is going to be a bit stupid and ignorant, especially after someone picks arkham asylum. of the games i did get and play though i did really enjoy plants vs zombies.

  4. 29/11/2009 at 11:29

    I… don’t know.
    I usually do these roundup things in July, i.e. at the end of the academic year, which is what I live by anyway. I’d have to look up which games came out in 2009 to come up with a decent answer.
    An extra problem is that with the current Steam sale in which I bought tons of stuff, including the critically acclaimed Arkham Asylum, I have a whole list of games that are potential contenders for the “best of” spot at the end of the year. And I still haven’t finished Dragon Age. And if I were to give you a title off the top of my head I’m sure I’d be forgetting some gem of a game.

    So no! I’m answering!
    Not yet anyway.

    • 6 octaeder
      30/11/2009 at 17:50

      Yeah you’re always at a disadvantage with these things if you haven’t played every big release of the year – which I clearly haven’t.

      Thanks to Dragon Age being enormous I’m probably going to cheat slightly and either have an addendum round-up in a few months when I may have actually finished it or even just round it into 2010’s list

  5. 7 Izzi
    29/11/2009 at 11:37

    most annoying thing is when you’ve played lots of old games this year and you’ve forgotten they weren’t from 2009, for example first thing that came to mind was half life, but that kind of wasn’t from 2009, only in my fond memories..

    • 8 octaeder
      30/11/2009 at 17:53

      Yeah, I get that problem a lot. It’s further complicated when you add in DLC – do games like TF2 and Burnout: Paradise count because they released additional game content this year? Probably not, but its something else I’ve had to weigh up.


Leave a Reply

