26
Jun
10

Steam Sale: The Epilogue

It’s all over. We emerge blinking and dazed from the harsh light of the world after 11 (!) days of cheap games. As people all over the world find excuses to not check their bank balance, I ask this simple question: How was it for you?

I have a slightly unnerving 34 extra games in my Steam list, although most of these came through the single purchase of the complete THQ collection.  How much did you buy? Anything you’ve been pleasantly surprised with? Or were there games that, in the cold light of day, you probably wouldn’t (or shouldn’t) have bothered with?

Personally I used it as an excuse to pick up a bunch of games I’d been hesitant to buy in the past: Metro 2033, The Void, Overlord II, Stalker: Clear Sky and Lead and Gold, among others. I also grabbed a few titles that I’d not been a big fan of in the past, like Saints Row II and Kane and Lynch, with the aim of giving them another chance. Then, of course, as is always the way with buying a collection of publisher specific games, there are the games I really have no intention of ever playing. In this case I’m talking about Company of Heroes, which will forever sit inside my games list, silently mocking me. The bastard.

Still, overall a good haul, even if it does mean that, at some point, I will end up playing a game called World of Zoo. How did you fare?

19 Responses to “Steam Sale: The Epilogue”


  1. 26/06/2010 at 22:26

    I think the Telltale Everything Pack is worth it if you don’t have any of the titles yet. Personally, I own pretty much everything Telltale made, so I obviously won’t be getting it.

    Other than that, this Steam sale looks like the perfect occasion to pick up those smaller games you never never could be bothered to get at full price. I’m thinking of things like Cogs (great little puzzle game, very useful to pass the time on the train), Machinarium, The Void, Trine, and of course King’s Bounty and Zeno Clash, which you already mentioned.

    And then there’s the old classics like Fahrenheit/Indigo Prophecy, BG&E and the Oddworld Games.

    Luckily I own most of these already, so I haven’t spent TOO much money on the sale yet. :)

    Oh, and I think The Witcher deserves more superlatives than you used in your post. I thought it was the best RPG is years, and it still beats the more recent and better-reviewed Dragon Age by a large margin, in my opinion.

    • 2 Phil
      26/06/2010 at 23:28

      Re: The Witcher

      I’m sure you’re right, and everything suggests that it probably is brilliant. Unfortunately I’ve still not gotten round to playing it so I’m being conservative with my praise.

  2. 3 MrEff
    27/06/2010 at 20:09

    If you’re into that kind of thing then Devil May Cry 3 and 4 for a tenner each is a steal. Admittedly DMC3 is a crap port and you can’t use a xbox controller on it but it’s still a damn good game. Shame I haven’t played the series in a while and am therefore crap at it.

    Also I was alerted to the Overlord series going for a criminally low price for all of them. If you enjoy being evil then it’s a worthy purchase.

  3. 4 Issi
    27/06/2010 at 20:10

    i’ve bought several games that sound good and are cheap without knowing anything about them. i haven’t been able to download them and play them yet so i can’t tell you what theyre like yet. It’s exciting!

    I did get to play ‘Chains’ though. It’s fun little indie physics puzzle game. And its 87p at the moment! definitely worth it i think.

  4. 28/06/2010 at 18:51

    There’s your chance! Go get them Oddworld games!

    http://store.steampowered.com/sub/949/

  5. 04/07/2010 at 20:07

    Last chance to get games cheap! I have everything I want (except, probably, Just Cause 2 and Assassin’s Creed 2, those are still way too expensive), but I’m still digging through the catalogue in the hopes of finding a cheap gem.

    If anyone has any suggestions, please share. So far I’m vaguely considering picking up silly laptop-friendly games like Safecracker, Bookworm Adventures 2 and the “Best of the Underground” collection, and then some adventure games like the Sherlock Holmes Collection, Ceville and The Whispered World (though Sherlock and TWW are still somewhat expensive; so the chances that I’ll be getting those are pretty slim…)

  6. 7 Phil
    05/07/2010 at 17:04

    Well, the sale is finished and so I’ve repurposed this post (again) to ask how you’ve got on – any new stuff you like/dislike/are completely indifferent to?

  7. 05/07/2010 at 19:13

    In reverse-chronological order:
    Bookworm Adventures Volume 2
    Safecracker 2 (RoW)
    Best of the Underground
    Max and the Magic Marker
    Beat Hazard
    Thief: Deadly Shadows
    Shatter
    FlatOut Ultimate Carnage (ROW)
    Oddworld Abes Oddysee and Exoddus package
    Flotilla
    Kane and Lynch: Dead Men
    Aliens versus Predator Classic 2000
    Ghostbusters: The Videogame
    Overlord Complete Pack

    And I think these were from before the sale, but I’m not entirely sure.
    Monkey Island 2 Special Edition: LeChuck’s Revenge Pre-Order
    The Deus Ex Collection

    The problem is, I haven’t really had the time to try all of them out yet. I only played some Beat Hazard (which I like better than Audiosurf, but it’s very buggy), Bookworm Adventures 2 (regular PopCap-style addiction) and Safecracker (not sure about that one, played about an hour and I already got stuck).

    In related news, I also got all the newer STALKER games when they were on sale on GamersGate, and I got The Journeyman Project 2, Sanitarium and Another World from GOG. I think I’m more excited about those purchases than about the stuff I got on Steam. :)

    • 9 Phil
      05/07/2010 at 20:05

      Bugger, missed the Stalker games being on sale at Gamersgate. Still need to get the latest one.

  8. 05/07/2010 at 19:30

    Oh, by the way, I got all those Steam games for the price of a single new game (60€). Totally worth it, amirite?

  9. 11 Issi
    05/07/2010 at 23:43

    zeno clash
    the void
    guns of icarus
    chains
    overlord + overlord 2
    star wolves 3
    trine
    tropico 3 absolute power

    felt like more than that at the time

  10. 12 Issi
    06/07/2010 at 00:07

    oh what did we think of them.. i havent played them all yet still, but so far.. i was happy with chains, and trine was also pretty cool.
    Star wolves.. unless it gets better in some unforseen way further into the story, i’d only value it at the £4 or so i got it for. Superficially it looked lovely and was nice to play but it got repetitve really quick.
    Absolute power i’ve been loving.. pretty much another tropico 3 + extra stuff to play with, so that has kept me happy for another 2 weeks.
    Zeno clash, i kind of have a lot to say about. Basically on the one hand, it struck a chord with me and i have been very moved by it. On the other hand, i’m not very good with brawlers because i quickly escalate into trying to smash everything on my desk because i tend to lose all sense of rational proportion when i get physically violent, so for health and safety reasons i’ve had to give it up :( i’m actually heartbroken.
    The others, i don’t know, will report back when i do.

  11. 14 Phil
    06/07/2010 at 00:31

    I should probably point out that, despite my initial shock at finding 34 new games, I only spent about £60 or so – the price of 2 new games, give or take. I’m pretty pleased with that, especially given that I’ve been drunk more than once over the past 10 days, giving me plenty of opportunity to recklessly spend money.

  12. 15 MrEff
    06/07/2010 at 09:43

    As well as the Deil May Cry and Overlord games I also picked up a few others, some good and some not so much.

    Lost Planet Colonies edition – You can pilot mechs with chainsaws and fight huge bugs the size of buildings, and that’s in the first couple of levels. Also you can rip weapons off the aforementioned mechs and wield them on foot.

    Darkstar One – This looked good but the port is crap. It’s buggy and the controls are awful, which is a shame since the game itself did look fun.

    The Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena – Another disappointment. I played the first game (which is included in this with updated graphics) on a friends xbox eons ago and loved the stealthy first person action. However they have messed up the porting yet again and the game runs at a ridiculously low frame rate.

    APB – While not in the sale this came out last week and I feel it deserves a special mention. It’s like the bastard child of a MMO and GTA and is pure chaos. It isn’t perfect but give it a month or two and I suspect most of the bugs will be smoothed out. It could also do with more districts but again, hopefully they are to come in the future.

    That’s it I think.

    • 06/07/2010 at 12:30

      About Riddick: I know what you mean about the poor performance. But seriously, the original Riddick is totally worth playing, you really shouldn’t give up on it as it’s one of the best action/stealth/whathaveyou games of the past few years. It’s one of the few games I played and finished more than once (three times, in this case).

      I seriously don’t know what happened to the remake, but I thought the original was already very impressive-looking, so maybe you should just “acquire” that one in some way and give it another shot.

      Just… Don’t give up on Riddick. He needs you :(

    • 17 Phil
      06/07/2010 at 13:16

      I might have to borrow my mates copy of Riddick. It’s always looked a bit bland, and the demo didn’t do anything for me, but everyone seems to love it. Investigation is needed I think.

    • 18 MrEff
      06/07/2010 at 14:41

      Oh I intend to get it working, I’m not going to let it sit there and mock me.

  13. 19 Phil
    06/07/2010 at 20:31

    A few comments about some of the games I’ve played so far:

    Max and the Magic Marker – Pleasantly surprised with this. Kind of like a cross between Crayon Physics Deluxe and Lucidity, using drawings to help you platform across levels. So far it seems more puzzler than platformer, but it’ll probably get trickier as I get further in.

    Chains – Pretty good little game. Lots of variety to level objectives. Essentially it’s like a match-3 with moving balls instead of blocks and, despite the calm visuals/audio, it can be bastard hard at times.

    Shatter – Actually I’m cheating here a bit because I already had it on PS3 anyway. It’s breakout with physics, but has a couple of neat mechanics on top of that to make it a solid arcade game.


Leave a Reply

