12
Nov
10

The 'What You're Playing' Discussion Post

Between starting a new life in a Cumbrian pub, preparing for the mammoth undertaking that is the end of year top 10 and an inexplicably re-manifesting obsession with TF2, I’ve had precisely sod all time to devise, write and rewrite new posts.

So, instead, let’s have a fireside (comment thread-side) chat about what we’ve all been playing recently. Is it any good? Possible goatee GOTY material? Just a casual timewaster? A dark demonic compulsion? So hilariously bad you can’t bring yourself to stop playing?

Let us know.

9 Responses to “The 'What You're Playing' Discussion Post”


  1. 1 Phil
    12/11/2010 at 21:31

    Okay, let’s kick thing off:

    I’ve spent most of my time the last couple of weeks embroiled in a number of Android games – Abduction 2, Fruit Ninja and, yes, Angry Birds.

    Other than these bite size bits of casual gaming I’ve been replaying World of Goo for the first time since its release and I’m being reminded just how brilliant and nuanced it is.

    Also TF2 – which I’ve spent a couple of re-acquainting myself with. Lots of mixed thoughts about the recent updates which I’ll hopefully get round to posting about soon.

    Other things as well – but I’ll update when I’ve had a few more hours with them.

  2. 2 adam
    13/11/2010 at 14:05

    My time has mostly been spent on fallout new vegas which is more of a sidestep from fallout 3 but an entertaining one nonetheless. I’ve also spent some time on red dead redemption’s undead nightmares dlc pack which is well worth the asking price.

    • 3 Phil
      13/11/2010 at 14:09

      Really neglected New Vegas so far – but yeah, everything I’ve played of it screams ‘Fallout 3 but with a cowboy robot”.

      Managed to play a bit of Undead Nightmare – although not much because my brother’s been hammering RDR of late – seems pretty good, and they get plenty of laughs out of the character’s reaction to zombies popping up… although the combat system doesn’t cope well with shitloads of zombies to deal with.

  3. 4 Coren
    13/11/2010 at 19:30

    I’ve been playing tons of Tidalis lately, even though I don’t really like it all that much. It’s too bloody frustrating too often. Though I will admit that it keeps innovating, even 70 levels in. And it does go pretty deep, gameplay-wise.

    I also finally finished Mini Ninjas, which was okay. Fun and lighthearted, but repetitive and shallow. I was glad I finally finished it.

    Played quite a bit of Costume Quest (the new Double Fine game) on PSN. So far it has similar flaws to Mini Ninjas, but at least this one’s not a full-priced game. And it has Double Fine’s token humor.

    I also installed Battlefield Bad Company 2, but I haven’t yet had the patience to play it.

    • 5 Phil
      20/11/2010 at 00:46

      I’ll pick up Costime Quest at some point, purely because it’s Double Fine, although the demo didn’t persuade me to rush to the purchase button.

      Bad Company 2 has a typically terrible single player mode, but is easily one of the best online shooters released this year. Easiest tip for progress: concentrate on team support over going solo – you rack up the points.

  4. 6 Issi
    20/11/2010 at 00:12

    As pretty much everyone who knows me seems to be aware, i’ve been stricken with a terrible addiction to that blasted civillisation game, to the point where i basically had to uninstall it. It’s not really the “it’s so bad but i can’t stop playing it” type, more of a “why am i still sat here?” kind of situation. I’ve reinstalled it again recently, but i’m fortunately on the tail end of all that now.

    I had a go at the tidalis demo, i agree and i didn’t buy it for that reason- it’s good but it’s something i’d sit and play for ages even though it wasn’t filling me with any actual joy. Feel free to judge me on such insights into my life i guess..

    • 7 Phil
      20/11/2010 at 00:48

      Civ 5 annoys the crap out of me, but, as you point out, it’s not easy to put down. It just seems that in terms of mechanics and depth Gal Civ 2 beats it on every level.

  5. 8 Izzi
    26/11/2010 at 00:18

    i will get Galactic Civ 2

  6. 9 Chris
    30/11/2010 at 21:50

    This week I have been mostly playing GT5, as those cheeky Japanese people at Polyphony have finally decided that the reflection of the weather will be to my liking. Here’s my quick review so far..

    Yes, ok it is very similar to previous games in the series, so the start of the game finds you trawling the used car dealer for a bargain (cue the Mk1 Golf GTi)
    The licenses are back too, now much easier tho, with only 10 tests instead of the usual 20. They are now only available once you reach a certain ‘level’ based on xp earned from racing. GT5 has basically become driving RPG.

    Lots of cars, but not enough ‘Premium’ cars for my liking really (the ones with full interiors & crash damage modelling). But credit where its due, they have brought back the classic mini, even if it doesn’t qualify for the lightweight British challenge due to it not being British?!

    The special challenges are also much more varied with karting, rallying, NASCAR, a Top Gear challenge & a very nice drive from the Alps to Roma.

    The on-line play has been much improved, from non on GT4 and a painfully limiting server with Prologue. There are proper open servers & friends only rooms etc. You can’t beat using a massive gold Volvo estate to run your friend Fiat 500 into a wall – yes than means you Carl.

    All things considered its a very polished game, not sure Sony & Polyphony can really justify the delays but that goes with the territory. If your a fan of driving games or a petrol-head its a necessity, if now you may find it overly complicated and frustrating. To date I’ve driven 650 theoretical miles and not had to defrost a single windscreen :)


Leave a Reply

