14
Dec
10

The Great Steam Treasure Hunt

With only one day to go until the annual City 16 top 10 countdown I am, predictably, procrastinating furiously. A good source for this has been Steam’s somewhat bizarre treasure hunt thingy.

Instead of just discounting games, it gives out 4 objectives every 48 hours. Complete any and you’re entered into a draw for the top 5 games on your wishlist. Complete 10 and you’re entered into a draw to win 100 games of your choosing. Obviously, there are sales on all titles with objectives attached. These objectives have ranged from the insultingly easy (set up a profile picture) to the quite difficult (score x amount on x level of x game) to the frankly impossible (earn an achievement on a game I neither own nor have any interest in buying.) Despite the sheer unlikelihood of winning a fuckton of games, I’ve just completed my 10th objective – not a hard task as I’d got most of the achievements/score challenges already thanks to previous sales.

Here’s the question though – are any of you bothering? There seems to be a lot less buzz around this sale than previous efforts by the service – certainly on Twitter and in game media. Personally I’ve only bought one game through it, and it was a game I already owned so I could upgrade for leaderboard support.

How about you?

3 Responses to “The Great Steam Treasure Hunt”


  1. 15/12/2010 at 13:54

    I am bothering! Somewhat.

    I unlocked 8 of the “achievements” so far, and I have to admit this whole treasure hunt thing got me to play games I’d forgotten or that have been on the backburner for a while. I finally started playing Fallout: New Vegas, for instance, which I bought for a tenner online a while ago but never got around to playing. And Left 4 Dead 2, which came out when I was fed up with L4D1 and which I didn’t really bother trying.
    And it made me play Beat Hazard and Shatter again (even though I just can’t manage to get those damn achievements >.<). So yeah, I think it's a nifty idea.

    I agree that there appears to be less of a buzz around the sales themselves, though. Not that it's not working for me: I just picked up Just Cause 2 and Metro 2033. It's all a bit less exciting than the usual sale countdown, though. I don't feel the urge to sit behind my computer screen every day aroun 7PM, watching that counter crawl to zero, keeping my fingers crossed that nothing interesting will pop up…

    The best of both worlds would be if Steam did a giant sale just after this treasure hunt. And that does sound like something they would do.

    • 2 Phil
      15/12/2010 at 14:01

      Yeah, the Shatter one was a git – as was Droplitz, although mostly because I had to learn how you actually play the game. I’d already done the Beat Hazard one though.

      You’re right though, I’ve actually started playing New Vegas and have been tempted to actually play Metro 2033 and Left 4 Dead 2 because of it.

  2. 3 Issi
    15/12/2010 at 14:58

    I recieved a game last night from a mate on my friends list who said he was playing it. I was aware it was happening, but i hadn’t really bothered to keep up with each days’ new objectives. So i thought i shouldn’t bother at all. However it looks like by sheer coincidence i’ve already completed 4 objectives so far, for things like having 10 friends and a profile pic etc, so go me


Leave a Reply

