03
May
11

Announcing The Impending Destruction of City 16

It was inevitable eventually.

After nearly three years – probably a personal record for concurrent blogging – I’m retiring Citizen 16 and City 16. Which isn’t to say I’m going to quit writing stuff on the Internet altogether just that I’m no longer planning distributing that writing across two sites.

But why?

1. Visibility

I’ve got a couple of plans that I’m not entirely comfortable talking about yet. However it’s becoming clear that it’d be helpful to have one single site that I can redirect people to as a sample of the sort of shit that comes out of my fingers.

Yeah, this one’s a bit vague.

2. Content

Both sites are now at the point where padding has crept in to keep a pretence of activity. While the traffic numbers for both sites are by no means spectacular, they are substantial enough to keep me worried when I go long periods without posting. This leads to ‘any old shit’ being published. (I should note that when I refer to ‘any old shit’ I generally mean this and not this, which I’m fine with. Think of that what you will.) Going back to one site covering everything should lead to a steady stream of posts without having to resort to publishing for the sake of it.

3. Name

So why close both sites and start again instead of just closing one and carrying on? Because I fucking hate the name Citizen 16. I really don’t know what I was thinking there except ‘shit, I need a URL and here’s one I’ve thought of that’s available.’ It’s based on a reference to a reference to a reference, which is about two steps more tenuous than I could even be bothered to explain to people let alone to mean anything.

What will the new site be called? I don’t know yet, but while I pull my usual trick of browsing song titles for inspiration I’ll be sure to leave it at least 24 hours before I actually register the bloody thing.

That’s about it really. I’ll probably archive both these sites over at WordPress, just so I’ve got them to hand. For those sole visitors of Citizen 16 annoyed that the next blog will also include game based stuff: suck it up. For those visitors of City 16 who don’t care for the rest of the crap I tend to write about: … well actually I’ve got a plan for that. I might dual post all game content on a separate Tumblr blog as well, just to focus it out. I’ll almost definitely set up a Tumblr dedicated solely to An Hour With… posts, as that was the only feature I actually enjoyed writing and plan to start doing it again. Audiogames is definitely continuing because I’m a fan of both music, games and telling people what they should like, so that place is perfect for me.

Also I’ve always quite fancied the idea of doing a collaborative games blog with 2 or 3 other people as it would solve the problems of content padding, time required and singular viewpoint. Let me know if you’re interested in that and we’ll work something out.

More soon, when I’ve got a URL and sorted out hosting options. Until then I’ll probably save all the posts I was working on for new site’s launch so it will continue to be quiet around here.

0 Responses to “Announcing The Impending Destruction of City 16”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About

This site has now moved! Go to the all new City16 or the cute fluffy imaginary animal of your preference will get it.

Latest News

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Also By Me


